ADL 339 Doráti, Desert Island Discs with Roy Plomley. The 1960 & 1980 programmes with Antal Doráti.

Here is the long-planned BBC ‘Desert Island Discs’ programmes. Although the spoken interviews are available on the online, they have been shorn of the actual wonderful music selected by Maestro Doráti and we have painstakingly restored all this music in our special remastering.



BBC Desert Island Discs with Antal Doráti, interviewed by Roy Plomley


1 Introduction (2:24)
2 Bach: CANTATA NO 56: Ich will den Kreuzstab gerne tragen/ with Gérard Souzay/ Geraint Jones Orchestra (2:24)
3 Schubert: STRING QUARTET NO 13/ Budapest String Quartet (5:44)
4 Kodály: HÁRY JÁNOS/ with Izabella Nagy and Imre Pallo (7:05)
5 Bartók – DIVERTIMENTO FOR STRINGS Philharmonia Hungarica/ Antal Dorati (5:21)
6 Brahms: SYMPHONY NO 2/ Minnea- polis Symphony/ Antal Dorati (5:02)
7 Mozart: Bei Männern (from THE MAGIC FLUTE) with Tiana Lemnitz, Gerhard Hüsch/ Berlin Philharmonic/ Beecham (4:04)
8 Verdi: OTELLO, Act 1 (closing passage) with Ramon Vinay, Herva Nelli, NBC Symphony/ Arturo Toscanini (3:31)
9 Ludwig van Beethoven: O, namenlose Freude! (from Fidelio) with Martha Mödl, Wolfgang Windgassen/ Vienna Philharmonic/ Wilhelm Furtwängler (4:42)

Favourite track: Beethoven FIDELIO

Programme first broadcast on BBC Home Service, 25 July 1960
Edited by Chris Brereton, Bournemouth

BBC Desert Island Discs with Antal Doráti, interviewed by Roy Plomley

CD 2: The 1980 Programme

1 Introduction (1:31)
2 Mendelssohn: RONDO CAPRICCIOSO Ilse von Alpenheim, piano (7:04)
3 Haydn: THE SEASONS, with Ileana Cotrubas, Werner Krenn/ Hans Sotin/ Brighton Festival Chorus/ Royal Philharmonic Orchestra/ Antal Dorati (8:44)
4 Bartók: CONCERTO FOR ORCHESTRA Hungarian State Orchestra/ Antal Dorati (5:45)
5 Ludwig van Beethoven: Oh, namenlose Freude! (from FIDELIO) with Martha Mödl, Wolfgang Windgassen/ Vienna Philharmonic/ Wilhelm Furtwängler* (5:55)
6 Mozart: STRING QUARTET NO 21 in D major, k575/ Quartetto Italiano (5:33)
7 Brahms: CLARINET QUINTET in B minor/ Amadeus String Quartet (5:51)
8 Franz Schubert: Die Täuschung (from DIE WINTERREISE) with Dietrich Fischer- Dieskau and Gerald Moore (2:43)
9 Shakespeare: Now is the winter of our discontent (from RICHARD III) with Laurence Olivier (7:10)

Favourite track: RONDO CAPRICCIOSO by Mendelssohn

Book: THE GOLDEN MAN, by Yokoi

Luxury: Italian landscape drawing from his collection

First broadcast on BBC Radio Four, 13 September 1980
Edited by Chris Brereton, Bournemouth

*this recording of FIDELIO was also chosen by Doráti in his 1960 Desert Island requests